

Heidy Purga Minister of Culture of the Republic of Estonia min@kul.ee

Grafenegg, 1 December 2024

Dear Minister Purga,

Invitation to the Honorary Committee of the European Union Youth Orchestra

I am delighted to write to invite you to become a member of the Honorary Committee of the <u>European</u> <u>Union Youth Orchestra</u> (EUYO). The EUYO has been described by former European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker as "the best possible ambassador for the European Union". Like the motto of the European Union, we are **United in Diversity**: approximately 3500 young musicians from every EU Member State compete for around 100 places annually.

Founded on a unanimous vote of the European Parliament in 1976, we have embodied the values of the European Union for nearly half a century. An orchestra is the ultimate harmonious group, listening to and working with each other. We stand for the cooperation, creativity, innovation, and achievement that define enlightened Europeans.

You can form a more detailed picture of our recent activity in our <u>2023 Yearbook</u>, the <u>2024 brochure</u> of our Spring Tour of Belgium with welcome greetings from President Metsola and Minister-President Jan Jambon, and our <u>2024 Summer Tour brochure</u>.

We are very keen to build our presence among young Estonian musicians and make sure they are aware of the opportunities we offer, and we would be deeply honoured if you were to join all the other EU Ministers of Education and Youth, Minsters of Foreign Affairs, and Ministers of Culture as a member of the Honorary Committee of the Orchestra. May I stress that as the position is an honorary one, we would not request you to attend meetings or otherwise take up your valuable time. We would simply list your position on our Honorary Committee on our website and in our printed literature.

Yours sincerely,

lug.Ma

Marshall Marcus Executive & Artistic Director

EUROPEAN UNION YOUTH ORCHESTRA

Honorary President Roberta Metsola, President of the European Parliament | Co-Founders Lionel & Joy Bryer Founding Music Director Claudio Abbado | Music Director Iván Fischer | Conductor Laureate Bernard Haitink Chair Ewa Bogusz-Moore | Advisory Council Founding Chair Sir Ian Stoutzker CBE | Executive & Artistic Director Marshall Marcus

Head of Honorary Patrons Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission

Postal address: Grafenegg 10, 3485 Grafenegg, Austria - info@euyo.eu

European Union Youth Orchestra Association (seat) Grafenegg 10, 3485 Grafenegg, Austria ZVR-Zahl: 1112083318 European Union Youth Orchestra Foundation (Italy) Comune di Bolzano – Ufficio Cultura, Vicolo Gumer 7, 39100 Bolzano Foundation Reg. 1560724













