

## YLVA JOHANSSON

MEMBER OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION HOME AFFAIRS

Rue de la Loi, 200 B-1049 Brussels Tel. +32-2 295 01 70 cab-johansson-contact@ec.europa.eu

Brussels, 27/11/2024

Dear Ministers,

Thank you for your letter dated 15 August regarding the decision of the Hungarian government to extend the system of national cards to citizens of Russia and Belarus.

I have had several written and oral exchanges with the Hungarian government on this matter. On 4 September I informed the LIBE Committee of the European Parliament, whose members also strongly shared your concerns.

Following these exchanges, the Hungarian authorities have provided additional information in writing to allow my services to complete their assessment of whether Hungary ensures the highest possible level of scrutiny and vigilance with regards to the entry and stay of Russian and Belarusian nationals into the Schengen area under the current circumstances. The analysis of this information is ongoing and on that basis the Commission will take any necessary follow-up measures. My services have in addition launched a consultation with all Member States on this important matter, notably by assessing the implementation of the visa and border guidelines issued in 2022, to ensure a coherent and common approach for the Schengen area as a whole.

Please be ensured that Commission will continue monitoring the vulnerability and risks that threaten us, with a view to taking all appropriate and necessary measures to ensure the security of the Schengen area.

Sincerely,

Ylva JOHANSSON

Mrs. Maria MALMER STENERGARD, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden

Mr. Johan FORSSELL, Minister for Migration of Sweden

Utrikesdepartementet/ Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Regeringskansliet/ Government of Offices of Sweden

103 39 Stockholm, Sweden

Mr Lars Løkke Rasmussen, Minister for Foreign Affairs Denmark

Mr Kaare Dybvad Bek, Minister for Immigration and Integration Denmark

Mr Margus Tsahkna, Minister of Foreign Affairs Estonia

Mr Lauri Läänemets, Minister of the Interior Estonia

Ms Elina Valtonen, Minister for Foreign Affairs Finland

Ms Mari Rantanen, Minister of the Interior Finland

Ms Thórdís Kolbrún Reykfjörd Gylfadóttir, Minister of Foreign Affairs Iceland

Ms Guðrún Hafsteinsdóttir, Minister of Justice Iceland

Ms Baiba Braže, Minister of Foreign Affairs Latvia

Mr Rihards Kozlovskis, Minister of Interior Latvia

Mr Gabrielius Landbergis, Minister of Foreign Affairs Lithuania

Ms Agnė Bilotaitė, Minister of Interior Lithuania

Mr Espen Bart Eide, Minister of Foreign Affairs Norway

Ms Emilie Enger Mehl, Minister of Justice and Public Security Norway